People convicted of a second offense DUI face considerably more jail time than first offenders. The typical mandatory minimum sentence is 30 days in jail. People sentenced to jail for that period of time can also be forced to pay for the cost of confinement. The standard fines and surcharges total up to $3,779. If the judge orders the costs of confinement, however, the fines increase by $2,375. However there is some good news. The Arizona legislature has change the law allowing home detention for second offense regular DUIs. If you are able to get home detention, the upfront jail reduces to six days and the fines are reduced to $4,404. It is also possible to get work release for four of the six jail days. Work release allows a person to be released from custody for 12 hours a day.
If home detention is not possible, work release can be ordered 6 days per week, 12 hours per day. Not every judge grants a six day work release schedule, however. Be advised that if you return to the jails late or with alcohol in your system, your release can be terminated and you can be required to serve out the remainder of your sentence in the jail. This is particularly distressing to people, because it is very difficult to get a judge to reorder work release once the jail staff determine that a violation has occurred.
For all DUIs, alcohol classes and the MADD impact panel are required. Typically people are ordered to complete more classes for second offense DUIs. There is no real hard and fast rule about this however. If you have any additional questions about second offense DUIs in Arizona, please call our DUI attorneys immediately. Our number is 602-989-5000. The consultation is always free and we are ready to help you today.
Posted by DUI Attorneys at Alcock and Associates