BLOG

Understanding Your Arizona Extreme DUI Case

DUI RIGHTS

In the state of Arizona, there are many different consequences if you are convicted of DUI.  A DUI charge is not straightforward, there are many different types of DUI depending on factors such as blood alcohol level.  Every year Arizona has a huge number of DUI cases and they have tightened penalties to try to reduce DUI in Arizona.  But, because penalties have been tightened, if you are charged with extreme DUI in Arizona, you face significant penalties.  According to DMV, extreme DUI has specific qualifications and carries harsh penalties, “An extreme DUI is classified as driving with a BAC of 0.15% or higher…

For a 1st offense of an extreme DUI, you may face:

  • 30 days in jail.
  • A fine of at least $2,500.
  • Required completion of an alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and educationprogram.
  • An ignition interlock requirement for every vehicle you drive.
  • Community service.

For a 2nd offense (or subsequent offense) of an extreme DUI, you may face:

  • At least 120 days in jail.
  • A fine of at least $3,250.
  • A driver’s license revocation of 12 months.
  • Required completion of an alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education program.
  • An ignition interlock requirement for every vehicle you drive.
  • Community service.”

If you have been charged with extreme DUI, as with any criminal charge, the guilt must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt in order to be convicted.  The factors that may influence ‘reasonable doubt’ include the ability to prove that you were the one driving the motor vehicle in Arizona, documentation of your blood alcohol level, and proof that the blood alcohol level results are from you drinking prior to arrest.  To be convicted of extreme DUI, it is likely that the arresting officer will testify in your case to verify these factors. But, there are ways to raise doubt such as when the blood alcohol test was administered.  For example, the blood alcohol level test must be administered within 2 hours of your arrest or you may be able to challenge the results.  Additionally, the officer must be able to prove that you did not consume alcohol between your arrest and when the blood alcohol test was administered.  If you were left alone or released and then asked to return to take a BAC test, you may be able to challenge the results.  If you have been charged with extreme DUI, the penalties are very harsh so it is important to hire and experienced attorney as soon as possible for your defense.